search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • HIVMA Clinical Educator Award

    The Clinical Educator Award recognizes HIVMA members who have demonstrated significant achievement in the area of HIV clinical care and provider education. Significant achievement will be based on overall achievement and refer to contributions to the acquisition and dissemination of information on HIV disease that transcend a single institution. How to nominate a colleague

    2016 HIVMA Clinical Educator Award Winner

    AbramsElaine J. Abrams, MD

    Dr. Abrams is a highly accomplished physician-scientist, clinician, and professor of pediatrics and epidemiology at Columbia University Medical Center, New York City and the senior research director at ICAP, originally known as the International Center for AIDS Care and Treatment Programs at the Mailman School of Public Health. At ICAP, Dr. Abrams leads a large and varied research portfolio that addresses key scientific questions in HIV prevention and care. A longtime member of both the Panel on Antiretroviral Therapy and Medical Management of HIV-Infected Children and the Panel on Treatment of HIV-Infected Pregnant Women and Prevention of Perinatal Transmission, Dr. Abrams has also served as co-chair of the Maternal and Child Health Guidelines Development Group of the World Health Organization (WHO) since 2012 and as co-chair of WHO’s 2015 clinical guidelines group, whose far-reaching guidelines recommended the treatment of all HIV-infected individuals regardless of their clinical and immune status. Dr. Abrams created a preceptorship program at Columbia University for college and medical students to participate in clinical activities and work with pediatric staff and patients, establishing pediatric ID/HIV rotations for ID fellows in the adult medicine division at Columbia. Training modules she has developed are today used by thousands of trainees and providers of pediatric and adolescent HIV care globally.


    Past HIVMA Clinical Educator Award Winners

    2015 - Peter A. Selwyn, MD, MPH
    2014 - Judith S. Currier, MD, MSc, FIDSA
    2013 - Joseph Eron, Jr., MD
    2012 - Roy M. Gulick, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2011 - Kimberly Smith, MD, MPH
    2010 - Mark W. Kline, MD
    2009 - Paul E. Sax, MD
    2008 - Jeffrey L. Lennox, MD
    2007 - Alice Pau, PharmD
    2006 - Joel E. Gallant, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2005 - Stephen Raffanti, MD
    2004 - Harold Henderson, MD

| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2017 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site