search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • HIVMA HIV Clinical Educator Award

    The HIV Clinical Educator Award recognizes HIVMA members who have demonstrated significant achievement in the area of HIV clinical care and provider education. Significant achievement will be based on overall achievement and refer to contributions to the acquisition and dissemination of information on HIV disease that transcend a single institution. How to nominate a colleague

    2013 HIV Clinical Educator Award Winner

    EnronJoseph J. Eron, Jr., MD

    Dr. Eron is widely admired for his skill at bringing science to the bedside and incorporating the science behind complex HIV issues into a practical clinical context. His reach extends far beyond Chapel Hill as a regular speaker at international and national conferences and a prolific writer whose bibliography includes more than 250 book chapters and publications in prominent journals such as Journal of AIDS, Clinical Infectious Diseases, The Journal of Infectious Diseases, The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and the Annals of Internal Medicine. Maintaining his reputation as a thought leader in the field of HIV medicine Dr. Eron serves as editor of the HIV Section of Antiviral Therapy, works as an editorial reviewer for several journals, serves as a principal investigator for the AIDS Clinical Trial Unit at the University of North Carolina (UNC), and he lectures in innovative online webinars. Dr. Eran's unique interactive style with a live audience, along with his ability to eloquently untangle the many loose ends of complex HIV issues and explain them, has resulted in a tremendous dissemination of HIV knowledge across the country and across the world. Dr. Eron is professor of medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine and serves as director of the Clinical Core at the UNC Center for AIDS Research.

    Past HIV Clinical Educator Award Winners

    2012 - Roy M. Gulick, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2011 - Kimberly Smith, MD, MPH
    2010 - Mark W. Kline, MD
    2009 - Paul E. Sax, MD
    2008 - Jeffrey L. Lennox, MD
    2007 - Alice Pau, PharmD
    2006 - Joel E. Gallant, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2005 - Stephen Raffanti, MD
    2004 - Harold Henderson, MD


Average 0 out of 5

| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2012 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site