search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Clinical Teacher Award

    Current Winner

    NesliNESLI BASGOZ, MD, FIDSA, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2014 Clinical Teacher Award. This award honors a career dedicated to teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, and medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation of physicians.

    During her more than 20 years at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) and Harvard Medical School, Dr. Basgoz has inspired countless trainees—and her fellow faculty members—with her expertise, clinical acumen, and unmatched commitment to her patients.   An associate professor of medicine, she has held multiple leadership positions at MGH and is currently associate chief and clinical director of the Division of Infectious Diseases. Dr. Basgoz was also the director of the HIV Clinical Service for 10 years, from 1996 to 2006, and continues to serve as director of MGH’s Infectious Disease (ID) Outpatient Practices.

    Since the start of her career, Dr. Basgoz’s gift for teaching has been widely evident. While she was still an ID fellow in 1991, Dr. Basgoz received the Distinction in Teaching Award from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Medical School.   At MGH, she has received the Partners in Excellence Award for Clinical Teaching and has twice received the Alfred Kranes Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching.  At Harvard Medical School, she was awarded the Daniel D. Federman Outstanding Clinical Educator Award.  

    Since 2001, she has been the chief of the Fuller Albright Firm, a position reserved for a very small number of the most highly regarded educators in the Department of Medicine at MGH.   She was the first woman ever selected as chief of a firm, part of an MGH system of education and mentoring of students and residents established over 20 years ago.

    Colleagues and former patients praise Dr. Basgoz’s unmatched bedside manner and willingness to go above and beyond to meet the needs of patients, regardless of everything else on her extremely active clinical and administrative plate. In recognition of her great impact through patient-centered care, she was awarded the Brian McGovern Prize for Clinical Excellence by MGH in 2005. The honor is the single highest award for a clinician in the hospital, which includes more than 1,000 faculty physicians.

    Her commitment to improve patient care and physician training throughout MGH is evident from her work with colleagues in developing a continuity of care initiative, guidelines on “How to Be an ID Attending” and “How to Be a Subspecialty Fellow,” an outpatient parenteral antibiotic therapy (OPAT) program, and a comprehensive, multidisciplinary HIV program.   She has served on innumerable committees in the ID Division, in the Department of Medicine and at the MGH.  In recognition of her contributions, she was asked to join the MGH Board of Trustees in 2009 and the Partners Healthcare Board of Trustees in 2012. In 2013, she was awarded the Partners in Excellence Award for Clinical Innovation.

    Dr. Basgoz earned a medical degree from the Northwestern University School of Medicine in 1983. After an internship and residency at Northwestern, she completed a clinical fellowship and a post-doctoral fellowship, both in infectious diseases at UCSF. She joined the faculty at MGH and Harvard Medical School in 1991.

    Throughout her career, Dr. Basgoz has been a consummate clinician and educator whose immense dedication, talent, and commitment to excellence and to quality improvement have inspired all who have known her. IDSA is pleased to add the 2014 Clinical Teacher Award to her long list of achievements.

    Past Clinical Teacher Award Winners

    2013 Marvin Turk, MD, FIDSA
    2012 Carol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA
    Sarah S. Long, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Vincent J. Quagliarello, MD, FIDSA 
    2010 Adolf W. Karchmer, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Joshua Fierer, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Larry M. Baddour, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Daniel M. Musher, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Hillar Vellend, MD, FIDSA
    2005 John Fisher, MD, FACP


| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2012 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site