search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Maintenance of Certification

    The Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program of the American Board of Internal Medicine promotes continuous learning and improvement of one’s clinical judgment, in an effort to improve patient care. IDSA and HIVMA support this goal and offer six online MOC modules. Participants can earn 10 points toward the requirements for self-evaluation of medical knowledge for each module completed and a maximum of 2.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ per module. MOC modules are reviewed and updated annually, as needed.

    IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules available:

    • Hepatitis C 2015: Expires December 2019 - new and free to IDSA members
    • Adult Vaccines 2015: Expires December 2019
    • Travel and Tropical Medicine: Expires December 2019
    • Infection Control: Expires October 2017 - meets the ABIM  Patient Safety requirement
    • General Infectious Diseases 2014: Expires October 2018
    • HIV Medicine in Clinical Practice: Expires December 2019
    • Infections in Non-HIV Immunocompromised Host: Expires February 2019 

    Purchase a module 

    IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules can be accessed here:


    ABIM's MOC Requirements:  

    • Every 10 years: Board Exam
    • Every 5 years: 100 MOC points, 20 of which must be Medical Knowledge
    • Every 2 years: Some MOC activity    
    • ABIM has extended the policy announced on 2/3/15 and will not require Practice Assessment, Patient Voice and Patient Safety in its Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program through 12/31/18.


    ABIM Assessment 2020 Report

    Infectious Diseases Society of America 2020 Assessment Feedback to ABIM

    Infectious Diseases Society of America. 2020 Assessment Feedback to ABIM. (PDF)

    Infectious Diseases Society of America's Position Statement on MOC Requirements

    IDSA's Position Statement on MOC Requirements (PDF)

| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2017 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site