search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Maintenance of Certification

    The Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program of the American Board of Internal Medicine promotes continuous learning and improvement of one’s clinical judgment, in an effort to improve patient care. IDSA and HIVMA support this goal and offer six online MOC modules. Participants can earn 10 points toward the requirements for self-evaluation of medical knowledge for each module completed and a maximum of 2.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ per module. MOC modules are reviewed and updated annually, as needed.

    The following IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules are available at:

    • Hepatitis C 2015 - new and free to IDSA members
    • Adult Vaccines 2015
    • Travel and Tropical Medicine
    • Infection Control - meets the new ABIM  Patient Safety requirement
    • General Infectious Diseases 2014
    • HIV Medicine in Clinical Practice
    • Infections in Non-HIV Immunocompromised Host

    Changes to ABIM’s MOC Requirements beginning January 2014:

    Major Changes in 2014

    • MOC requirements will apply to ALL diplomates (including “grandfathers”)
    • MOC will be a continuous process ◦ 100 points required every 5 years
    • Some activity required every 2 years    
    • MOC will include Patient Safety and Patient Survey modules

    Please be aware that the changes will affect everyone. 

    • Every 10 years: Board Exam
    • Every 5 years: 100 MOC points 
    • Every 2 years: some MOC activity

| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2016 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site