search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Oswald Avery Award Winners

    Current Winner

    EricERIC R. HOUPT, MD, FIDSA, a clinician-scientist who has broken important new ground in the development of molecular diagnostics for infectious diseases, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2015 Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement. This honor recognizes members or fellows of IDSA age 45 or younger who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in an area of infectious diseases.

    Dr. Houpt is the Jack M. Gwaltney Jr. Professor in Infectious Diseases at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, where he also serves as vice chair for research in the Department of Medicine. His research has quickly earned him an international reputation.
    Dr. Houpt’s research on enteric infections in children in resource-limited settings has produced significant findings with the potential to fundamentally change how infectious diarrhea is recognized, prevented, and treated.This work, including major studies published in the Journal of Infectious Diseases in 2013 and Lancet Infectious Diseases in 2014, found that diarrhea in these settings is often a multipathogen event and a state of enteropathogen excess above a high carriage baseline. Assays developed for this research are now being used to study the changing etiology of diarrhea in the context of rotavirus vaccination and to identify vaccine-derived polio. Dr. Houpt is the principal investigator for a Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation-funded project that is using similar molecular diagnostic methods at multiple sites around the world to further discern the etiology of childhood diarrhea and malnutrition, leading causes of mortality.
    Dr. Houpt’s group has also developed assays that enable susceptibility testing of multidrug-resistant tuberculosis within a few days of culture. This represents a substantial advance over traditional culture-based drug susceptibility testing, which can take weeks. A member of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Advisory Council for the Elimination of Tuberculosis, Dr. Houpt also serves as a tuberculosis consultant for the Virginia Department of Health, where he has developed the state’s program into a national leader for its therapeutic drug monitoring efforts and clinical research.
    As a junior fellow, Dr. Houpt developed a mouse model of colitis with the parasite Entamoeba histolytica that is now the standard for the field. The model, which has been critical for early vaccine development, allowed for the identification of protective interferon-gamma and interleukin-17 mediated immunity, and demonstrated that the mechanism of malnutrition-induced susceptibility is via leptin receptor signaling in the intestinal epithelium.

    Dr. Houpt earned a medical degree from Emory University in Atlanta in 1996. He completed an internship and residency in internal medicine at the University of Chicago and an infectious diseases fellowship at the University of Virginia, where he joined the faculty in 2002. An integral part of the clinical, teaching, and mentoring activities there, Dr. Houpt attends on the general medicine and infectious diseases consult service. He works frequently at field sites in Bangladesh and Tanzania, where more than 40 medical students, housestaff, and undergraduates from the University of Virginia have participated in rotations.
    The author of more than 100 peer-reviewed publications, Dr. Houpt was elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation in 2011. He has received several honors, including the IDSA Wyeth-Lederle Vaccines Young Investigator Award in Infectious Diseases (2002), the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America Basic Career Development Award (2006), and the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Bailey K. Ashford Medal (2010).
    For his groundbreaking research in molecular diagnostics and their application to challenging questions in infectious diseases, IDSA is proud to honor Dr. Houpt with IDSA’s 2015 Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement. 

     Past Oswald Avery Award Winners

    2014 Sarah E. Cosgrove, MD, MS, FIDSA, FSHEA and Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2013 Cesar A. Arias, MD, MSc, PhD, FIDSA
    2012 Dan A. Barouch, MD, PhD
    2011 Umesh Parashar, MBBS, MPH
    2010 Eleftherios Mylonakis, MD, PhD, FIDSA 
    2009 Jean-Laurent Casanova, MD, PHD
    2008 Vance G. Fowler, Jr., MD, MHS 
    2007 Pablo C. Okhuysen, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Cynthia G. Whitney, MD, MPH
    2005 James E. Crowe, MD
    2004 B. Brett Finlay, PhD
    2003 Joseph Heitman, MD, PhD
    2002 Matthew K. Waldor, MD, PhD
    2001 David A. Relman, MD
    2000 Michael S. Donnenberg, MD
    1999 William A. Petri, Jr., MD, PhD
    1998 Joseph W. St. Geme, III, MD
    1997 Samuel I. Miller, MD
    1996 David D. Ho, MD
    1995 Michael Osterholm, PhD, MPH
    1994 Mark Klempner, MD
    1993 Claire Broome, MD
    1992 Martin Blaser, MD
    1991 Marcus Horwitz, M.D.
    1990 Jerrold Ellner, MD
    1989 Henry Murray, MD
    1988 Walter Stamm, MD
    1987 John Gallin, MD
    1986 Charles Dinarello, MD
    1985 Dennis Kasper, MD
    1984 Adel Mahmoud, MD, PhD
    1983 Anthony Fauci, MD
    1982 George Miller, PhD
    1981 Gerald Keusch, MD
    1980 Robert Purcell, MD
    1979 Stanley Falkow, PhD
    1978 King Holmes, MD, PhD
    1977 Lowell Glasgow, MD, MS
    1976 Sheldon Wolff, MD
    1975 Kenneth Warren, MD
    1974 Malcolm Artenstein, MD and Emil Gotschilch, MD
    1973 Frank Austen, MD
    1972 Zanvil Cohn, MD
    1971 Jonathan Uhr, MD
    1970 Hans Mueller-Eberhard, MD, DMSc
    1969 Robert Chancock, MD
    1968 Robert Good, MD, PhD



| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2016 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site