search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Society Citation Award Winners 

    Current Winners

    HelenHELEN W. BOUCHER, MD, FIDSA, a tireless champion of IDSA’s efforts to promote new drug development in the face of rising antimicrobial resistance, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2015 Society Citation. First awarded in 1977, this is a discretionary award given in recognition of exemplary contributions to IDSA, an outstanding discovery in the field of infectious diseases, or a lifetime of outstanding achievement.

    As a member of IDSA’s Antimicrobial Resistance Committee, and previously, the Antimicrobial Availability Task Force, Dr. Boucher has been an instrumental part of the Society’s ongoing activities to educate the public, legislators, regulators, the media, and others about the actions needed to address the significant public health threat posed by antibiotic resistance. Among her many contributions, she has played a key role in supporting IDSA’s 10 x ’20 Initiative, which in 2010 called for a global commitment to develop 10 new systemic antibiotics by 2020. Five new such drugs have been approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) since the initiative began. More than 40 other medical societies and related health organizations have endorsed the effort.

    Drawing on her knowledge as a skilled academic investigator and dedicated clinician, and her past experience in the pharmaceutical industry, where she worked on the clinical trials of voriconazole, Dr. Boucher has represented IDSA at public forums, government agency workshops, advisory committee meetings, and in other settings, where her presence has ensured a fruitful and balanced discussion of even the most controversial issues. Her extensive interactions with FDA have helped guide the agency’s renewed interest in promoting the development of anti-infective agents, while her lectures, presentations, and media interviews have helped keep the topic of resistance in the spotlight. In addition to IDSA’s Antimicrobial Resistance Committee, Dr. Boucher has also served on the Society’s Board of Directors and the Research Committee.

    An associate professor of medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine with particular expertise in the treatment of staphylococcal and fungal infections, and infections in immunocompromised patients, Dr. Boucher is also the director of the infectious diseases fellowship program and a staff physician at Tufts Medical Center in Boston. She has published more than 40 peer-reviewed publications, including 10 articles describing the emerging resistance crisis, particularly among the ESKAPE pathogens (Enterococcus faecium, Staphylococcus aureus, Klebsiella pneumoniae, Acinetobacter baumannii, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, and Enterobacter species). Her work has detailed the dearth of antimicrobial agents in the development pipeline to treat resistant infections and needed improvements in the design of clinical trials for new antibiotics, including the assessment of biomarkers as new end points and the development of highly speci.c trials focused on uniquely drug-resistant pathogens.

    Recognized as one of the Best Doctors in America multiple times, Dr. Boucher has received several honors, including the Massachusetts Infectious Diseases Society’s Edward H. Kass Award for Clinical Excellence (1998). She is a member of the Education and Steering committees of the Mycoses Study Group, the American Board of Internal Medicine’s Subspecialty Board on Infectious Diseases, and numerous committees at her institution. An associate editor for Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, she is a reviewer for numerous scientific journals. She completed an internship, residency, and chief residency at Deaconess Hospital in Boston after earning a medical degree from the University of Texas Medical School at Houston in 1993. Following clinical and research fellowships in infectious diseases at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, she held several positions at Pfizer before joining the faculty at Tufts University School of Medicine in 2002.

    For her many valuable contributions to the Society’s efforts to promote the development of new antimicrobial agents, which are desperately needed to treat patients with increasingly resistant infections, IDSA is honored to recognize Dr. Boucher with the 2015 Society Citation.

    Past Society Citation Award Winners

    2014 David L. Thomas MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2013 Marguerite A. Neill, MD
    Catherine M. Wilfert, MD
    2012 Myron S. Cohen, MD, FIDSA
    N. Cary Engleberg, MD, FIDSA
    Alan D. Tice, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA 

    Carol J. Baker, MD, FIDSA
    Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH, MPA, FIDSA


    John G. Bartlett, MD, FIDSA
    Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD, FIDSA

    2009 Warren D. Johnson, Jr., MD, FIDSA 
    2008 Russell Petrak, MD

    Gary P. Wormser, MD, FIDSA
    Eduardo Gotuzzo, MD, FIDSA


    Larry J. Strausbaugh, MD, FIDSA


    George G. Jackson, MD
    Lawrence P. Martinelli, MD


    Stanley Falkow, PhD
    Walter T. Hughes, Jr., MD
    Emanuel Wolinsky, MD

    2003 Morton N. Swartz, MD
    Julie Gerberding, MD, on behalf of the CDC staff
    2002 Marvin Turck, MD
    C. Douglas Webb, PhD
    2001 George W. Counts, MD
    2000 Dennis George Maki, MD
    Dennis L. Stevens, MD, PhD
    1999 Sydney Finegold, MD
    1998 Porter Anderson, PhD
    John Robbins, MD
    Rachel Schneerson, MD
    David Smith, MD
    1997 Johan Septimus Bakken, MD
    1996 Donald A. Henderson, MD
    1995 King Holmes, MD, PhD
    1994 David Rogers, MD
    Edward Hook, III, MD
    1993 Dorothy Horstmann, MD
    Samuel Katz, MD
    Harold Neu, MD
    1992 Robert Austrian, MD
    Jay Sanford, MD
    1988 Martha Yow, MD
    1987 Margaret Pittman, PhD, MS
    1986 Victor Nussenzweig, MD
    1985 Robert Gallo, MD
    Luc Montagnier, CNRS
    Sheldon Wolff, MD
    1984 Allen Steere, MD
    1983 Maurice Hilleman, PhD
    Saul Krugman, MD
    1982 James Todd, MD
    1981 Don Brenner, MS, PhD
    William Cherry MS, PhD and Colleagues
    James Freeley, PhD
    Joseph McDade, PhD
    1977 Edward Kass, MD, PhD, M


| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2016 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site