search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • The Watanakunakorn Clinician Award

    Current Winner

    EliotELIOT W. GODOFSKY, MD, a leading expert in the management and treatment of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection, is the recipient of IDSA’s Watanakunakorn Clinician Award. Named to honor the memory of Dr. Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, this award is presented by the IDSA Education and Research Foundation to recognize an IDSA member or fellow for outstanding achievement in the clinical practice of infectious diseases.

    Dr. Godofsky has been a fulltime ID clinician in private practice since 1994. He is currently the chief operating officer and director of clinical research at Bach and Godofsky, MD, PA, in Bradenton, Fla., which he co-founded with Dr. Michael C. Bach, a pioneer in treating patients infected with HIV. Following Dr. Bach’s death in 1998 at age 54, Dr. Godofsky continued to see both his and his partner’s patients while also maintaining the practice’s clinical research activities, frequently working long hours seven days a week for more than a year. This strong commitment to patients and to advancing clinical care through research has been evident throughout his career.  

    Recognizing there were no viral hepatitis experts in western Florida that he and others in his community could send their patients to in the 1990s, Dr. Godofsky became the local expert and provided an invaluable service to countless patients. He pioneered hepatitis care in the region a decade before interest in integrating this care into ID practice became more common. He is an active member of and contributor to IDSA’s Hepatitis Task Force and the IDSA/American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases Hepatitis C Guidance Panel, which issues timely new guidance for the treatment of HCV in light of newly approved, direct-acting antiviral medications.

    His extensive clinical research work—primarily office-based, outpatient clinical research focusing on HIV and HCV—has raised the standard of care in his community and helped provide better and safer treatments for patients. He has participated in nearly 100 Food and Drug Administration-sponsored clinical trials as a principal investigator, enrolling more than 1,000 patients. A prominent HCV researcher, he was also a leading national investigator for two HIV antiretroviral therapies, efavirenz and nelfinavir. His research contributions stand out not just among primary care experts but also among clinical trial centers nationwide, and he has presented his findings at national and international scientific meetings on multiple occasions.

    Dr. Godofsky graduated from Georgetown University School of Medicine in 1987; did his internship and residency at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center in New York City; and completed a fellowship in infectious diseases at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine before entering private practice in the early 1990s.

    In addition to his work as a clinician and researcher, Dr. Godofsky has served on multiple IDSA committees, including the Clinical Affairs Committee, the Standards and Practice Guidelines Committee, the Annual Meeting Program Committee, and the Research Committee. He has represented IDSA on committees for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. He is a frequent lecturer on infectious diseases topics to lay and professional audiences locally and at the state and national levels.

    For his dedication and passionate commitment to excellence in patient care and in clinical research in the private practice setting, IDSA is proud to recognize Dr. Godofsky with the 2014 Watanakunakorn Clinician Award.

    Past Winners of the Watanakunakorn Clinician Award 

    2013      Johan S. Bakken, MD, PhD
    Thomas M. File, Jr., MD, MSc
    2012 David N. Gilbert, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Stan Deresinski, MD, FIDSA
    2010     Marvin J. Tenenbaum, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Lawrence J. Eron, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Michael L. Butera, MD
    2007 Timothy T. Kuberski, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Barbara H. Wade, MD, FIDSA
    2005 James S. Tan, MD
    2004 Donald M. Poretz, MD
    2003 Steven Jon Berman, MD, FACP
    Richard N. Olans, MD
    2002 William A. Agger, MD
    2001 H. Gunner Deery, MD
    Peter T. Frame, MD
    2000 Martin C. McHenry, MD, MS
    Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, MD
    1999 Gonzalo Ballon-Landa, MD
    Thomas G. Slama, MD
    1998 David S. McKinsey, MD
    Daniel J. Sexton, MD
    1997 Ramon E. Moncada, MD
    1996 George Atkinson, MD Pankey, MD
    Alan D. Tice, MD
    1995 Ellie J.C. Goldstein, MD
    1994 George Thornton, MD
    1993 Edward Septimus, MD



| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2012 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site