search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • HIVMA Research Award

    The Research Award recognizes HIVMA members who have made outstanding contributions to HIV medicine in clinical or basic research. Nominees must actively be engaged in HIV research and must be junior to mid-career, such as an associate professor or its equivalent for an institution without a formal academic rank. The award will be based on innovation and originality and require demonstration of significant independent research (such as success in securing independent peer-reviewed grant funding) and productivity (such as publications in peer-reviewed journals). How to nominate a colleague

    2017 HIVMA Research Award Winner

    Raphael J. Landovitz, MD, MSc

    LoRe_AwardRaphael J. Landovitz, MD, MSc, is a skilled HIV clinician and researcher who has been a leader in advancing biomedical HIV prevention. An associate professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at the David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and associate director of the UCLA Center for Clinical AIDS Research & Education, Dr. Landovitz also serves as co-director of the UCLA Center for HIV Identification, Prevention, and Treatment Services. His research has focused on HIV behavioral science, pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), and post-exposure prophylaxis (PEP), including novel research findings related to motivators and barriers for these approaches, the efficacy of contingency management to facilitate their use in substance users, and HIV risk trajectories that warrant PrEP. Considered a leading PrEP expert, Dr. Landovitz has conducted some of his work in collaboration with Los Angeles County, through establishing PEP and PrEP demonstration projects in collaboration with the Department of Health, including the use of real-time drug levels to trigger staged-level adherence interventions. Since 2009, when he obtained his National Institutes of Health career development award, he has published more than 40 primary research studies, reviews, and editorials, including commentaries in publications including The New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet Infectious Diseases, and The Journal of Infectious Diseases.

    Past HIVMA Research Award Winners

    2016 - Vincent Lo Re III, MD, MSc, FIDSA
    2015 - Ingrid V. Bassett, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2014 - Deborah Persaud, MD
    2013 - lghovwerha Ofotokun, MD, MSc, FIDSA
    2012 - Kelly Gebo, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2011 - Marshall Glesby, MD, PhD, FIDSA & Michael Mugavero, MD, MHSc
    2010 - Peter W. Hunt, MD & David M. Smith, MD
    2009 - Benigno Rodriguez, MD
    2008 - Rochelle Walensky, MD
    2007 - Grace McComsey, MD
    2006 - Susan J. Little, MD
    2005 - Steven Deeks, MD
    2004 - Diane Havlir, MD

| IDSA | Contact Us

© Copyright HIVMA 2018 HIV Medicine Association

Full Site Mobile Site