Skip to nav Skip to content

Maintenance of Certification

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

The Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program of the American Board of Internal Medicine promotes continuous learning and improvement of one’s clinical judgment, in an effort to improve patient care. IDSA and HIVMA support this goal and offer six online MOC modules. Participants can earn 10 points toward the requirements for self-evaluation of medical knowledge for each module completed and a maximum of 2.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ per module. MOC modules are reviewed and updated annually, as needed.

IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules available:

  • Hepatitis C 2015: Expires December 2019 - new and free to IDSA members

  • Adult Vaccines 2015: Expires December 2019

  • Travel and Tropical Medicine: Expires December 2019

  • Infection Control: Expires October 2020 - meets the ABIM  Patient Safety requirement

  • General Infectious Diseases 2014: Expires October 2018

  • HIV Medicine in Clinical Practice: Expires December 2019

  • Infections in Non-HIV Immunocompromised Host: Expires February 2019

Purchase a Module Here

IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules can be accessed here:

ABIM's MOC Requirements:  

  • Every 10 years: Board Exam
  • Every 5 years: 100 MOC points, 20 of which must be Medical Knowledge
  • Every 2 years: Some MOC activity    
  • ABIM has extended the policy announced on 2/3/15 and will not require Practice Assessment, Patient Voice and Patient Safety in its Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program through 12/31/18.

ABIM Assessment 2020 Report

Infectious Diseases Society of America 2020 Assessment Feedback to ABIM

IDSA's Position Statement on MOC Requirements 

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.